Hanok Village

hanok-village-4th

If there is one place in Jeonju that I will never get tired of going, it has to be  Hanok Maeul (한옥마을). This place is Jeonju’s historic center and a major attraction for tourists. It is known for its elegant, sloping slate roofs. Hanok are the traditional houses of the Korean upper class while maeul means village. There are over 800 traditional Korean hanok houses maintaining Jeonju’s historical charms and traditions.

Last Saturday, I went there for the fourth time to take photos of this amazing village. I’ve taken so many shots of this place in so many angles, but this is my favorite…a shot from the terrace of Jeonmang Cafe (전망). One is able to enjoy this splendid view while sipping a piping hot mug of Cafe Americano.

2 thoughts on “Hanok Village

  1. It is always interesting to see the traditional houses of a place and culture, both inside and out. Little nuances of history and insight into physical and psychological necessity and volition.

    • I read this entry again and noticed that the last few sentences in the narrative sound very commercial, very touristy-like (which annoys me, sometimes). Sorry for that.

Leave a comment