Commuting under the “new normal”

Nowadays, even though it’s not as strict as during the heights of the pandemic, commuting in Metro Manila remains a nightmare specially for the working public.

Some public utility vehicles (PUVs) have been allowed to travel but with limited capacity. For jeepneys, which is the most common public transport, drivers are required to have those makeshift plastic barriers inside to maintain social distancing. And from the usual 16-18 passengers, they had to reduce it to 10-12 or less depending on the size of the jeep to maintain the distance.

To be honest, it took me awhile to ride the jeepney again. If there’s one bad side that this pandemic has brought anyone, it’s being anxious and paranoid.

Since March 2020, I’ve only ridden the jeepney for 3-5 times or maybe less. I will only ride the jeep if one, there’s just really few people inside; and two, if it’s raining. I would give up the second condition if the jeepney is crowded.

And between riding a taxi or a jeepney, the latter is safer because it’s not airconditioned. Air can rotate continuously.

Still the best option for me is either to ride a bike or just walk. I walk going to the mall, to the park, to the market, which usually takes me 30 minutes to an hour.

Lucky for me, my office is just a 10-minute walk from where I live. And I love walking.

But for others, the usual one-hour travel pre-pandemic time, takes longer due to limited supply. It is also more expensive to travel due to limited choices. 

Leave a comment