The Girl Who Chased the Moon

“Tell me the story about how the sun loved the moon so much he died every night to let her breathe.”

moonsetI chased the moon for three nights in Iloilo City. Every night, I made a snap to record what it looked like, its color, its brightness, its mood. Most of these were taken from the hotel where we stayed during the APEC Meeting. Some where taken during a short stroll at the Iloilo River Esplanade.

During the last three days that I was documenting the moon, I realized one funny thing. People would find it strange seeing a girl with a long lens in the middle of a street staring at the moon with so much focus. Literally, my surrounding shuts down when I am staring at the moon. At that moment, it’s just me and the moon.  I don’t see anyone. I don’t hear anyone. I didn’t even notice how beautiful the river at the esplanade was. Or I think I did, I just did not bother.

By the way, on the fourth day, just as we were about to leave the city, it rained.

2 thoughts on “The Girl Who Chased the Moon

  1. I agree, I love the moon and I really like the pictures you’ve got here with the differences, lovely contrasts. There was a lunar eclipse here a couple of weeks ago but it was 3am and I missed it, what’s worse is that I was still awake at the time! Cherchez la femme!

  2. Cherchez la femme! —> lol. i think you wouldn’t have exchanged it in any other way.
    i am never much of a fan of the lunar eclipse. for the simple reason that i could not capture it in my camera. I am reading a Sebold novel about the moon at the moment. paradoxically dark but not really out of this world. the theme is more culturally striking to say the least, for me at least.

    how are you doing? you are not on FB anymore! [or I might be missing something] i hope you are doing okay, mate! 🙂

Leave a comment