Utter Privilege And Unnecessary Indulgences

IMG_3621

Sometimes it is easy to forget just how ridiculously privileged some of us are.  To tuck into a hearty brunch with more nutrients than a body requires and more calories than it can reasonably burn off is a luxury the majority of the world sadly do not have.  It is not the question that on a Monday such a feast costs a mere £2.75 ($4.17), though to people living on $1/day or such like I’m sure this will seem like profligacy in the extreme, it is the very fact that we may casually walk down to the café to obtain it at our will, or choose something else.

2 thoughts on “Utter Privilege And Unnecessary Indulgences

  1. I can very much relate, given that I come from a developing country and witnessing the many faces of “poverty” everyday myself. That even the minimum $1/day cannot not be afford by many.

    Digressing a bit, I am not much of a breakfast person. I am more of a lunch person, if you know what I mean. I just need caffeine early in the morning to give me a boost and I would last until lunch time. The photo looks delicious. It’s 8:26 in the morning and it’s breakfast time here.

    • It is perhaps almost as distasteful that I sadly witness so much poverty here too, purely as a result of greed and apathy for one’s fellow human beings. My city has a huge homeless problem in a country that affords opulence that most of us even here baulk at.

      If you come visit I’ll by you the breakfast for lunch!

Leave a comment