An Old Friend

my 5572

So long ago, what must be well more than 30 years now, I visited this place with my father and this little engine was running happily on a small line garnering less attention than a larger more illustrious visitor some yards away.  Due to that lack of attention I was granted a ride in the cab as the engine pulled passengers up the track.  I was a boy, naturally I was interested in trains.  But this was special, this was interaction, this was the noise of the steam, smells of burning furnace and oil and also of loading coal onto the fire to make the engine work.  I never forgot it.

We are both older now, she hasn’t run in more than 20 years but I have returned as a father myself now to introduce my own already train-mad son to my old friend that started it all.

Leave a comment